Welcome to Cave Hill Cemetery

Chartered by the General Assembly of Kentucky on February 5,1848 for the purpose of operating a rural cemetery. Cave Hill was dedicated in July of that year and the transition of Cave Hill Farm into a beautiful and historic cemetery began.

Like any pioneer, when William Johnston decided to build a brick house in the countryside of the fledging town of Louisville, he first searched for a good spring. He found one that helped feed Beargrass Creek, emanating from a large cave that kept it well protected.

ArbNet Accredited Arboretum Level II
News News

Historical Walking Tour- Sunday, November 1, 2015

Be sure to join us for our final walking tour of the year this Sunday, November 1, 2015. Join Steve Wiser as he navigates through the historic sections of Cave Hill Cemetery, carefully pointing out notable citizens, monumental art, and some fascinating stories about the cemetery's history. RSVP today by calling 502.451.5630. Cost: $15 per person.

Remembering our Veterans

Join Cave Hill Cemetery and Flags4Vets on Saturday, November 7, 2015 at 11:00 a.m. as we pay tribute to those that have sacrificed their lives for our country. We will place over 6,000 flags in the Cave Hill National Cemetery in a wonderful ceremony sponsored by Humana Government  Business. For more information regarding this ceremony, visit http://clientsv1.charityadvantageservers.com/client/AdoptaflagorgUSMWRN/veterans_day_2013.aspx